Tucson Arizona Tragedy

Since my failed run for office and my short-lived career as a political analyst, I infrequently comment on politics. However, I am bothered by what has become an apparent attempt to politicize a terrible tragedy.  The attempted assassination of a member of Congress and the senseless death of six innocent bystanders is something that should be above politics. Yet, sadly, it is not.

I have read much speculation and I submitted a column for my friend Dave Yonki’s site for his Write on Wednesday feature, which I will repost here after it runs.

Preparing for that column, I was doing research on Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords and the alleged gunman Jared Loughner.  There is a lot of information out there and there is much speculation and opinion; however, I came across the following item from My Fox NY Website in reporting about Jared Loughner.

“The suspect’s mother works the Pima County Board of Supervisors in Arizona, the briefing added.”

When I did a search for more information there was really nothing out there other than the above line almost thrown on as an after thought.

Now, for those of us who live in Northeast Pennsylvania, we scratch our heads when we read something like that.  Here in good old NEPA, our elected and appointed officials have been running up quite a record of scandal and corruption — so maybe, just maybe we are a little more skeptical.

You see, a person who has had run ins with the law and has no police record and was able to purchase a handgun and has or may have (because I’m not sure if that is just bad grammar and I can’t find another source) a relative working in government, well…. we immediately become, what’s the word I’m looking for???? …. Suspicious.

Sarah Palin at the Time 100 Gala, in Manhattan...

Image via Wikipedia

 

So is there anyone else out there besides me who finds this somewhat interesting?

 

What makes me even more interested, is that Sheriff Dupnik really seems to being trying to direct attention onto conservative talks show hosts such as Rush Limbaugh and conservative candidates such as Sarah Palin.

Now, I have no idea how politics works in Tucson Arizona.

I am not saying there is anything nefarious going on.

I honestly don’t have any idea.

So, if the question would be is there some kind of political connection?  To that I don’t know the answer.

However, what I find curious is that no one seems to be asking the question.

1 Comment

Filed under Congress, Conservative, Democrat, Democratic, Liberal, Liberty, MSNBC, Northeast Pennsylvania

One response to “Tucson Arizona Tragedy

  1. I do write about politics every day and I too was thinking about what people are not talking about – http://underthelibertytree.com/2011/1-10-11-under-the-liberty-tree/

Leave a Reply

